The 27th Annual Stellar Awards

Gospel / News & Entertainment / January 24, 2012

*All Photographs © 2012 Prestige Magazine*

Prestige was honored to cover the  27th Annual Stellar Awards which recognized the accomplishments in gospel music.  The showed taped at the iconic Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville.

The award show was hosted by gospel greats Marvin Sapp and Dorinda Clark Cole. The list of winners included Vashawn Mitchell who lead the way with six awards including  Male Vocalist of the Year, Artist of the Year, Praise and Worship CD of the Year, and Contemporary Male of the Year.

The evening started out with a heart pumping praise with Kirk Fraklin taking the stage and performing a number of his latest hits including his hit “Smile” for which he won an award for Song of the Year.

Kirk Franklin also took home  Producer of the Year, Contemporary CD of the Year, and CD of the Year.

Other great performers of the night included Fred Hammonds, Ricky Dillard, New G, Earnest Pugh, Vision, and Richard Smallwood.

Other winners of the night included Kim Burrell, Smokie Norful, Mary Mary, and The Rance Allen Group. Y’anna Crawley won the New Artist of the Year award and gave thanks to her fans for listening to her music and also thanks to God.

Dorothy Norwood was all presented with the Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award. The 27th Annual Stellar Awards will air nationwide from Janauary 21, 2012 thru February 11, 2012.

Below are the winners for the 27th Annual Stellar Awards.

Female Vocalist of the Year                                                                        Group/Duo of the Year
Kim Burrell                                                                                              Mary Mary

New Artist of the Year                                                                               CD of the Year
Y’Anna                                                                                                     Kirk Franklin – I Smile

Choir of the Year                                                                                       Producer of the Year
Ricky Dillard                                                                                             Kirk Franklin for Hello Fear

Contemporary Group/Duo of the Year                                                          Traditional Group/Duo of the Year
Mary Mary                                                                                                Rance Allen Group      

Contemporary Male of the Year                                                                   Traditional Male of the Year
VaShawn Mitchell                                                                                      Smokie Norful

Contemporary Female of the Year
Kim Burrell

Traditional Female of the Year                                                                   Contemporary CD of the Year
Beverly Crawford                                                                                      Kirk Franklin | Hello Fear

Traditional CD of the Year                                                                          Urban Inspirational Performance of the Year
Smokie Norful | How I Got Over…                                                              VaShawn Mitchell | “Nobody Greater”

Music Video of the Year – Short Form                                                          Music Video of the Year – Long Form
VaShawn Mitchell | “Nobody Greater”                                                      Deitrick Haddon | Church on the Moon

Traditional Choir of the Year                                                                     Contemporary Choir of the Year
Mississippi Mass Choir                                                                              Shekinah Glory Ministry

Instrumental Gospel CD of the Year                                                             Special Event CD of the Year
Moses Tyson Jr | Music Remastered & Sacred Organ                                    Bishop Paul Morton | Still

Rap, Hip Hop Gospel CD of the Year                                                            Children’s Project of the Year
Lecrae | Rehab: The Overdose                                                                  Teen Pure N Heart | Pure N Heart Live

Quartet of the Year                                                                                    Recorded Music Packaging of the Year
Rance Allen Group                                                                                    Martha Munizzi for Make It Loud (Martha Munizzi)

Praise and Worship CD of the Year                                                               Spoken Word CD of the Year
VaShawn Mitchell | Triumphant                                                                 Selah | Look At You Loving Me

Radio Station of the Year

Major Market (3M+)                                                                                     Large Market (1-3M)
KJLH 102.3 FM (Los Angeles, CA)                                                                WHAL 95.7 FM/1460 AM (Memphis, TN)

Medium Market (500,000-1M)                                                                         Small Market (under 500,000)
WLOU 1350 AM (Louisville, KY)                                                                    KOKA 980 AM (Shreveport, LA)

GMC TELECAST: Saturday, February 11th, 2011 at 8 p.m. EST on GMC

The show will air in national syndication from January 21, 2012 to February 26, 2012. Below are just a few air-dates & times in some of the major markets. For a complete list of air-dates, visit the Stellar Awards website (


Atlanta, GA (FOX) – February 4, 2012, 4PM

Washington, DC (CW) – February 12, 2012, 1PM

Philadelphia, PA (MyNetworkTV) – February 5, 2012, 3PM

Houston, TX (MyNetworkTV) – January 21, 2012, 7PM

Detroit, MI (WADL-TV) – February 5, 2012, 8PM

Norfolk, VA (FOX) – January 29, 2012, 12PM & February 12, 2012, 1PM

Charlotte, NC (ABC) – February 26, 2012, 2PM

Cleveland-Akron, OH (ABC) – February 5, 2012, 1PM

St. Louis, MO (MyNetworkTV) – February 19, 2012, 5PM

Orlando-Dayton Beach, FL (WRDQ-TV) – February 5, 2012, 3PM

Birmingham, AL (ABC) – February 12, 2012, 12PM

San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose, CA (KOFY-TV) – February 25, 2012, 3PM

Richmond-Petersburg, VA (FOX) – February 12, 2012, 3PM

Jackson, MS (ABC) – January 29, 2012, 12PM

Greensboro-Winston Salem, NC (FOX) – February 12, 2012, 1PM

Nashville, TN (MyNetworkTV) – February 5, 2012, 7PM

Indianapolis, IN (WHMB-TV) – January 26, 2012, 8PM & February 23, 2012, 8PM

Columbus, OH (W23BZ-TV) – January 21, 2012, 8PM

Shreveport, LA (MyNetworkTV) – January 25, 2012, 8PM

Milwaukee, WI (MyNetworkTV) – January 29, 2012, 3PM

Savannah, GA (FOX) – January 29, 2012, 1PM

Pittsburgh, PA (MyNetworkTV) – February 12, 2012, 3PM

Charleston, SC (ABC) –  January 21, 2012, 2PM

Grand Rapids-Kalamazoo, MI  – January 29, 2012, 12:30PM

Tyler-Longview, TX (ABC) – February 5, 2012, 12:30PM



Tags: , ,

Prestige Celebrity Magazine

Previous Post

Prestige Review: "Joyful Noise" Soundtrack

Next Post

Prestige Remembers Don Cornelius 1936-2012

You might also like

0 Comment

Leave a Reply

More Story

Prestige Review: "Joyful Noise" Soundtrack

4 out of 5 Stars Starring Cast: Queen Latifah, Dolly Parton, KeKe Palmer, and Jeremy Jordan Rating: PG-13 Official...

January 24, 2012

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This